The Wage. Puncher’s Paid

Wrote a new one tonight. I got a real
cool note today from someone I really look up to….his work….his art is at the level I aspire to reach someday!!! It’s amazing what a little encouragement can do for the soul. A big part of this life is working with what you’ve got to work with. Being a cowboy to me means that if you are dealt limitations you learn to make them work out in your favor. Someone I really look up to once told me that God knows the tools he lent you….up to you to honor those gifts and make the most of them…..you’re graded on a curve!!! Hope you like my words tonight. PT

The Wage A Puncher’s Paid

That circle was a large one
His stick that day was slow
The others moved in quickly
His horse more stop than go

So he watched the cattle closer
Then he chose a tighter course
He’d learned while still a button
That you can’t unpick your horse

A cowboy works around stuff
He makes do with what he’s got
And sometimes it’s a challenge
If what they give you ain’t a lot

I’ve met some men with talent
And some with starch and try
A few with the age and wisdom
To make an equine anchor fly

The best ones find the way to
Make those lemons lemonade
That’s how a man brings value
Earns a wage a puncher’s paid

PT Muldoon copyright 2023

Leave a comment